Iowa Medical Marijuana Program >
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Iowa >
Iowa Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Iowa >
Replacement Medical Marijuana Card in Iowa >
An Iowa resident with any of the following conditions qualifies to apply for a medical marijuana card in the state:
Yes, it is possible to apply for an Iowa medical marijuana card online. First, a qualifying patient must have their medical condition certified by an approved healthcare practitioner via telemedicine or in person. Afterward, they can apply for the state's medical cannabidiol card through a dedicated online patient registration portal.
To register with the Iowa Medical Marijuana Program, a patient must schedule an appointment with a licensed healthcare practitioner who will certify their medical condition. After certification, the qualifying patient can enroll in the state's Medical Marijuana Program online using the state's approved registration system. Alternatively, they may register by sending completed approved forms via mail to the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services.
Yes. Qualifying medical cannabis patients in Iowa must have proof of the state’s residency to apply for medical cannabidiol registration cards.
The annual fee for a medical cannabidiol card in Iowa is $100 unless the patient is eligible for a reduced fee. A reduced fee is available to persons with the following:
The reduced application fee is $25.
A patient must bring a form of photo identification, such as an Iowa ID or driver's license, and an Iowa medical cannabidiol registry identification card to the dispensary when visiting.
The following categories of healthcare practitioners in Iowa are permitted to issue medical marijuana recommendations:
If you are below the age of 18 and have a qualifying condition under the Iowa Medical Cannabidiol Program, you must have an adult caregiver apply for a registry ID card for you. The adult caregiver will be issued a card on your behalf when approved. For more information on caregiver registrations, see the online caregiver app and renewal guide.
If you are 18 in Iowa and have a qualifying health condition, you can apply for a medical cannabidiol card without the help of a caregiver. The state’s medical cannabidiol program is open to persons aged 18 or older as long as they have obtained certifications from licensed healthcare providers attesting to their eligibility to use medical cannabidiol to treat their conditions.
Your Iowa medical cannabidiol registration card expires one year from the time it is issued. The OMC will send you a notification by email or letter 60 days before your card expires. Each year, you must have your condition recertified by your physician, submit the same forms to the Department of Public Health, and provide payment. Note that you must select "Yes, I am a renewing patient" on the online patient registration link on the OMC portal to initiate your application process. For more information on renewal applications, see the online patient application and renewal guide on the Department of Health and Human Services website.
Yes, medical cannabis is legal in Iowa pursuant to the Medical Cannabidiol Act. The Iowa legislature passed the SF 2360 bill in 2014 to allow only patients with intractable epilepsy access CBD products with up to 3% THC content for treating their conditions. The initial bill has undergone a few amendments, with the latest June 2020 amendment (HF 2589) signed by Governor Kim Reynolds adding more qualifying conditions and expanding the pool of medical professionals permitted to recommend medical cannabis. HF 2589 allows registered patients to access 4.5 grams of THC over a 90-day period.
No, Iowa law prohibits the cultivation of medical marijuana. Only licensed growers are allowed to grow and process cannabis in Iowa.
A caregiver is a person who is a resident of Iowa or a bordering state (Nebraska, Missouri, Illinois, Wisconsin, South Dakota, and Minnesota), including but not limited to a parent or approved guardian, at least aged 18, who has been designated by a patient's healthcare practitioner as a necessary caretaker taking responsibility for managing the well-being of the patient pertaining to the use of medical cannabidiol.
Per Iowa laws, patients who are minors, disabled, or unable to visit a dispensary may have designated caregivers. Note that the patients' physicians designate caregivers. To understand the caregiver registration process under the Iowa Medical Cannabidiol Program, see the caregiver registration page of the Office of Medical Cannabidiol website.
Registered cannabidiol patients in Iowa are advised to contact the agency tasked with regulating medical marijuana in other states before traveling there with their cannabidiol registration card. Out-of-state medical marijuana patients can use medical cannabidiol but are not permitted to purchase from any state-licensed dispensary.
Yes, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) protects medical marijuana patients' information in Iowa. The state's Department of Human Services is a covered entity under HIPAA and is expected to adhere to the Act's provisions concerning releasing medical marijuana patients' protected information. Also, HIPAA compliance is a requirement for Iowa-licensed medical cannabidiol dispensaries that handle protected health information (PHI). However, law enforcement can access Iowa's patient registry through the Department of Transportation (DOT) central system, hence certain patients' data. Similarly, under the HIPAA privacy rule, certain protected health information about medical cannabis patients in Iowa may be disclosed to their employers.
No, health insurance policies do not cover medical cannabidiol costs in Iowa.
Iowa medical cannabidiol registration card holders may purchase no more than 4.5 grams of THC within a 90-day period unless approved by their healthcare practitioners.
No. A medical cannabidiol patient or caregiver in Iowa must have their medical cannabidiol registration card when visiting a state-licensed dispensary.